Recently we went over Facebook’s privacy settings.  Today I want to go over their privacy settings for groups.

Facebook states that these are three types of group privacy settings.  They are as follows:

  • Open: For Open groups, anyone on Facebook can see the group and join. That means the group will appear in search results and all content that members post (ex: photos, videos and discussions) is visible to anyone viewing the group.

  • Closed: For Closed groups, everyone on Facebook can see the group name and members, but only group members can see posts in the group. Unless you’re added to the group by another member, you’ll need to ask to join. You’ll become a member when your request is approved.

  • Secret: These groups cannot be found in searches, and non-members can’t see anything about the group, including its name and member list. The name of the group will not display on the profiles (timelines) of members. To join a secret group, you need to be added by a member of the group.
    You can change your groups privacy settings by going to the group’s page and then clicking on Privacy Settings in the upper right hand corner.  Group members will be notified that you changed the settings.
    The most common question I am asked about group privacy settings is if people can see your personal information if you are part of a group.  The answer is no.  The people who can see your information are determined in your personal privacy settings.
Share →